top of page
20200118_James_Lili_Nissilä-2.jpg
Chef d'orchestre
20200118_James_Lili_Nissilä-6.jpg

JAMES S.
KAHANE

Considéré comme un chef d’orchestre raffiné et avec une passion sincère pour la musique, James S. Kahane a été amené à diriger de nombreux orchestres de premier rang tels que l'Orchestre de la Radio Finlandaise, l'Orchestre Philharmonique d'Helsinki, le Lucerne Festival Strings ainsi que l'Orchestre du Festival de Gstaad. Il occupe actuellement le poste de chef d'orchestre principal de l'Orchestre de Chambre d'Helsinki et celui de chef d'orchestre de l'Orchestre Polytechnique de Finlande. À seulement 21 ans, il avait été nommé chef d'orchestre assistant de Susanna Mälkki à l'Orchestre Philharmonique d'Helsinki, où il a servi jusqu'en automne 2018.

Au cours des saisons précédentes, James a été invité à la masterclasse de direction d'orchestre du Festival de Musique de Lucerne (sélectionné parmi plus de trois cent soixante candidats) donnée par Bernard Haitink, au prestigieux Festival de Musique de Tanglewood et au Deutsche Dirigentenpreis 2017 (Grand Prix Allemand pour les chefs d'orchestre), où il fut l'un des douze candidats choisis pour diriger l'Orchestre Symphonique de la WDR ainsi que l'Orchestre Gürzenich de Cologne. Auparavant, il avait été le plus jeune candidat sélectionné pour le Festival Menuhin de Gstaad, où il fut choisi par Neeme Järvi pour diriger l'un des concerts officiels du festival. En 2018, James a été sollicité par Kristjan Järvi pour diriger l'Orchestre des Académies Baltiques à Berlin durant leur première tournée internationale, et l'année suivante, il s'est vu offrir une bourse pour participer à l'Atlantic Music Festival aux États-Unis, en tant que chef d'orchestre assistant en résidence. Au printemps 2020, James a également été invité en tant que chef d'orchestre assistant de Hannu Lintu à l'Orchestre de Paris.

Parmi les autres orchestres qu'il fut amené à diriger se trouvent notamment l'Orchestre Symphonique de Lahti, l'Orchestre de chambre d'Ostrobotnie, le Tapiola Sinfonietta, le Jyväskylä Sinfonia, l'Orchestre de Chambre de Kirkkonummi, l'Orcheste à cordes de Saint Michel, le Helsinki Sinfonietta, le Triangle Orchestra, l'Orchestre de la Francophonie, le Glasperlenspiel Sinfonietta, le Pori Sinfonietta, l'Orchestre de la ville de Joensuu, l'Orchestre Symphonique de l'Académie Järvi, l'Orchestre d'état de Lituanie ainsi que l'Orchestre Symphonique de Rehovot. Doté d'une solide expérience à la fois dans le monde symphonique et lyrique, James à dirigé l'Opéra de Chambre de Finlande à plusieurs reprises et a également été chef invité au Festival d'Opéra Contemporain d'Helsinki, ainsi que sur d'autres productions d'opéras tels que Le Viol de Lucrèce de Britten et Les Années de Silence de Tuurna. Travaillant régulièrement avec des styles de musique différents, allant de la musique baroque à la musique actuelle, James a été amené à diriger l'Ensemble NYKY, l'Orchestre Baroque Hurra, le Somnium Ensemble, l'Ensemble SaxiBa, l'Orchestre Baroque de l'Académie Sibelius et l'Ensemble Contemporain de l'Académie de Musique Buchmann-Mehta. Ses engagements pour la saison prochaine comprennent des concerts en Finlande et aux Pays-Bas.

ORCHESTRE PHILHARMONIQUE D'ISRAËL: DANSES PHILHARMONIQUES

7, 8 JUIN 2023

"L'Orchestre Philharmonique d'Israël, composé de 110 membres, souvent décrit comme le principal atout culturel d'Israël et considéré par beaucoup comme "l'orchestre du peuple juif", a émergé au cours de sa relativement courte existence comme un ensemble de classe internationale.

[...] L'orchestre est une véritable « philharmonie » au sens traditionnel du terme, c'est-à-dire une coopérative détenue par ses musiciens. L'Orchestre Philharmonique donne des séries de concerts dans sa ville natale de Tel-Aviv, à Haïfa et à Jérusalem, et fait de fréquentes apparitions ailleurs. Sa résidence principal est l'Auditorium Mann à Tel-Aviv."

Programme

Felix Mendelssohn : Marche nuptiale du Songe d'une nuit d'été

Johann Sebastian Bach : Gavotte de la suite orchestrale no. 3

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart : Danse allemande no. 3, K.605

Frédéric Chopin : Valse op. 64 no. 2 des Sylphides

Antonin Dvorak : Danse slave no. 2 op. 46

Paul Ben-Haim : Célébration

Chansons de danses folkloriques Isareliennes - Arrangement pour l'OPI

Leonard Berstein : Mambo des danses symphoniques


James S. Kahane: Direction
Orchestre Philharmonique d'Israël

 


7.6.2023, Auditorium Charles Bronfman, Tel Aviv, Israël.

8.6.2023, Auditorium Charles Bronfman, Tel Aviv, Israël.

JAMES S. KAHANE REJOINT RSB ARTISTS

17/12/2021

James S. Kahane rejoint RSB Artists qui le représententeront en France.

"L'année musicale vient tout juste de se terminer pour le chef d'orchestre James S. Kahane, avec des concerts couronnés de succès aux côtés de l'Orchestre symphonique de Mulhouse puis de l'Orchestre de Chambre d'Helsinki et nous sommes à cette occasion très heureux d'annoncer qu'il compte à partir de ce jour parmi nos artistes; nous le représenterons en effet pour le territoire français.

À 26 ans, le chef français installé en Finlande depuis quelques années a déjà un riche parcours, qui l'a vu diriger de nombreux orchestres de premiers rang tels que l'Orchestre de la Radio Finlandaise, l'Orchestre Philharmonique d'Helsinki, le Lucerne Festival Strings ainsi que l'Orchestre du Festival de Gstaad."

La société RSB Artists est une agence artistique dynamique à taille humaine spécialisée dans le management des carrières d'artistes lyriques et chefs d'orchestre. A côté des talents confirmés qu'ils représentent, l'agence accorde une grande importance à la recherche de jeunes artistes qui seront demain les principaux acteurs de la scène lyrique.

Afin de réaliser au mieux ses objectifs RSB Artists dispose des conseils des spécialistes les plus compétents et ne saurait se passer, en particulier, des conseils et de l’engagement de Nicolas Jouve et de Serge Doumeng.

RSB Artists représentent également James S. Kahane dans le monde entier depuis l'Automne 2022.

"James clearly has a natural talent for the art of conducting [...]. He is a very intelligent and passionate musician who shows great promise in his future as a conductor"

Gstaad, Switzerland

"I find [James] to be a profound and touching conductor. His Beethoven [Symphony No. 2] sounded vibrant and dynamic and I have to say I was quite impressed."

Lucerne, Switzerland

"Mr. Kahane is a sensitive and profound musician respected by his fellow students. He knows what he wants and is able to communicate this to the orchestra. This will take him far."

Helsinki, Finland

Please reload

20200118_James_Lili_Nissilä-4.jpg
2.png
Chef d'orchestre principal
ORCHESTRE DE CHAMBRE D'HELSINKI
image.png
Chef d'orchestre
ORCHESTRE POLYTECHNIQUE DE FINLANDE
Gallery
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • YouTube
REPRÉSENTATION:
RSB ARTISTS

E-Mail: rsbweb@rsbartists.com
Téléphone: +33 6 747 617 97
Pour toute information supplémentaire ou réservations:

Your message has been sent

Contact
bottom of page

top of page
20200118_James_Lili_Nissilä-2.jpg
Musician. Conductor.
20200118_James_Lili_Nissilä-6.jpg

JAMES S.
KAHANE

Described as a refined conductor with a genuine passion for music, James S. Kahane has been led to conduct first-rate orchestras such as the Finnish National Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, the Lucerne Festival Strings, and the Gstaad Festival Orchestra, and presently holds the position of Principal Conductor of the Helsinki Chamber Orchestra and Conductor of the Polytech Orchestra in Finland. Aged only 21, he was chosen to be Assistant Conductor to Susanna Mälkki at the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, where he served until Autumn 2018.

During the previous seasons, James has been invited to the Lucerne Festival Conducting Masterclass (out of more than 360 candidates) with Bernard Haitink, to the prestigious Tanglewood Music Festival in summer, and to the Deutsche Dirigentenpreis 2017 (German Conductors' Awards), where he was one of the 12 competitors to conduct the WDR Sinfonieorchester and the Gürzenich-Orchester Köln. Prior to that, he has already been the youngest selected conductor for the Gstaad Menuhin Festival, where he was later chosen by Neeme Järvi to conduct in an official festival concert. In 2018, James has been solicited by Kristjan Järvi to conduct the Baltic Academies Orchestra in Berlin as part of their first international tour, and the following year, he was awarded a fellowship to attend the Atlantic Music Festival in the United States. In Spring 2020, James was invited to assist Finnish conductor Hannu Lintu at the Orchestre de Paris.

Other orchestras he conducted include the Orchestre Symphonique de Mulhouse, the Lahti Symphony Orchestra, the Ostrobothnian Chamber Orchestra, the Tapiola Sinfonietta, the Jyväskylä Sinfonia, the Kirkkonummi Chamber Orchestra, St. Michel Strings, the Helsinki Sinfonietta, the Triangle Orchestra, the Francophonia Orchestra, the Glasperlenspiel Sinfonietta, the Pori Sinfonietta, the Joensuu City Orchestra, the Järvi Academy Symphony Orchestra, the Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra, and the Rehovot Symphony Orchestra. Proficient in various genres of music, both in the symphonic and operatic world, James conducted the Finnish Chamber Opera on several occasions and was also a conductor at the Helsinki Contemporary Opera Festival, as well as on productions of operas such as The Rape of Lucretia by Britten and Years of Silence by Tuurna. Working regularly with very different repertoires, ranging from early baroque up until the music of our times, James was a guest conductor at the NYKY Ensemble, the Hurra Barockorkester, the Somnium Ensemble, the SaxiBa Ensemble, the Sibelius Academy Baroque Orchestra, and the Buchmann Mehta School of Music Contemporary Ensemble. Further engagements this season include concerts in Finland and France.

ISRAEL PHILHARMONIC ORCHESTRA: THE PHILHARMONIC DANCES

JUNE 7th, 8th 2023

"The 110-member Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, often described as Israel's foremost cultural asset and regarded by many as the "Orchestra of the Jewish People," has emerged in its relatively short life as a world-class ensemble.

[...] The orchestra is a true "philharmonic" in the traditional sense, meaning that it is a cooperative owned by its musicians. The Philharmonic performs concert series in its home city of Tel-Aviv and in Haifa and Jerusalem, and makes frequent appearances elsewhere. Its main venue is the Mann Auditorium in Tel-Aviv."

Program

Felix Mendelssohn: Wedding March from A Midsummer Night's Dream

Johann Sebastian Bach: Gavotte from orchestral suite no. 3

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: German Dance no. 3, K.605

Frédéric Chopin: Valse op. 64 no. 2 from the Sylphides

Antonin Dvorak: Slavonic Dance no. 2 op. 46

Paul Ben-Haim: Celebration

Isareli folk dance songs  - Arrangement for IPO

Leonard Berstein: Mambo from Symphonic Dances

James S. Kahane, conductor
The Israel Philharmonic Orchestra

 


7.6.2023, Charles Bronfman Auditorium, Tel Aviv, Israel.

8.6.2023, Charles Bronfman Auditorium, Tel Aviv, Israel.

JAMES S. KAHANE JOINS RSB ARTISTS

17.12.2021

James S. Kahane joins RSB Artists for General Management.

"The musical year has just ended for the conductor James S. Kahane, with highly successful concerts alongside the Orchestre Symphonique de Mulhouse and the the Helsinki Chamber Orchestra, and we are at this occasion very happy to announce that he will count from this day on among our artists; we will represent him for the French territory.


At the age of 26, the French conductor, who has been living in Finland for a few years, already has a rich career, which has seen him lead many first-rate orchestras such as the Finnish Radio Orchestra, the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, the Lucerne Festival Strings as well as the Gstaad Festival Orchestra."

RSB Artists is a dynamic artistic agency on a human scale specialized in the management of the careers of lyrical artists and conductors. Besides the confirmed talent they represent, the agency attaches great importance to the research of young artists who will be tomorrow's stars.

RSB Artists has the advices of the most competent specialists and in particular thanks Nicolas Jouve and Serge Doumeng.

RSB Artists manages and represents James S. Kahane worldwide since Autumn 2022.

"James clearly has a natural talent for the art of conducting [...]. He is a very intelligent and passionate musician who shows great promise in his future as a conductor"

Gstaad, Switzerland

"I find [James] to be a profound and touching conductor. His Beethoven [Symphony No. 2] sounded vibrant and dynamic and I have to say I was quite impressed."

Lucerne, Switzerland

"Mr. Kahane is a sensitive and profound musician respected by his fellow students. He knows what he wants and is able to communicate this to the orchestra. This will take him far."

Helsinki, Finland

Please reload

20200118_James_Lili_Nissilä-4.jpg
2.png
Principal Conductor
HELSINKI CHAMBER ORCHESTRA
image.png
Conductor
THE POLYTECH ORCHESTRA
Gallery
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • YouTube
General Management:
RSB ARTISTS

E-Mail: rsbweb@rsbartists.com
Phone: +33 6 747 617 97
For additional information or bookings:

Your message has been sent

Contact
bottom of page